Musings of an Eclectic Scribe

Exploring topics to write about

Insomnia

Ahh there you are!  I for a moment I thought you had forgotten all about me!  Let’s call you George.

You are that guy that shows up to the party while its at the halfway mark.  Everyone’s having a good time relaxing and just hanging out.  The party has found it’s rhythm and the evening is going well.

Then you show up.

It’s not like you’re the bad guy; people don’t mind that you showed up, but you show up at the wrong time and now the party reshuffles.  There is a period of unrest as you wander through and a new energy runs through the crowd.  Friends were done playing cards but oh we can play another round right guys?

People who were making their leisurely departure from their host hastily move to the door in hope that they will get out before you find some interesting but inane topic that will keep them far longer than they had planned to stay.

That is what you’re like George.

Now don’t get me wrong… I have done some of my best stuff during an insomnia binge.  I’ve finished papers, written stories, found the patience to finish up a bit of tedious sewing that I just couldn’t get past.  Sometimes you are fun and we do have a great time together!  Remember the night of full lunar eclipse?  I was so glad you dropped by!  We took some great pictures and had hot chocolate on the lawn.  It was a magical time.

Most of the time though, you show up at the most inopportune times.  You stop by to happily say hi before moving on to you next victim leaving me to toss and turn, and stare at the ceiling.  When I can no longer stand it, I wander the house, accompanied only by the ghosts of my ancestors.  They aren’t much into conversation.  Then there are the endless games of solitaire.  What is the point of that game anyway?  Sleep has left me like a jilted lover who may or may not return.

So George, I hope you won’t be too upset when I say I would really rather you found someone else to bother.  Not that I would wish you company on anyone, I’m just saying that we’ve been seeing a little bit too much of each other. You make me cranky and sap any semblance of the small amount of patience I may have to deal with the mundane issues of daily life.  Surely there must be some night shift worker, desperately trying to stay awake, who could use your company.  Sometimes I am that night shift worker and you are nowhere to be found.

I am breaking up with you George.  Just so you know, it is you.  It’s definitely you.

3 comments on “Insomnia

  1. Lorie Smith Schaefer
    January 17, 2015

    Love the personification. Was it his visit that allowed you to write this?

    Like

  2. meboyes
    January 17, 2015

    LOL… yes he stopped by early this morning just to hassle me.

    Like

  3. Blyth
    January 17, 2015

    George is not welcome here either so don’t give him my digits. Wishing you a dream filled slumber this evening.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2015 by in Rambling and tagged , , , .
Biblebelt Witchy Mama

Life and Times of a North Carolina Heathen Parent

medievalfragments

Turning Over a New Leaf

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Learn To Love Food

Food Fun For Feeding Therapy and Picky Eaters

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Embellishment

for the Bellydance Journey

girl in the hat

Anna Fonté: the things she writes want you to look at them.

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

