Musings of an Eclectic Scribe

Exploring topics to write about

Terror in a Tiny Town!

Ever have one of those moments when you wake up suddenly and you know something is wrong but you don’t know what it is?

I’m a nurse working the night shift so I usually try to stay up for a few hours after I get home in the morning.  It’s the time I take to say good morning to all my farm creatures, (minus the abducted chickens of couse), some reading, or work on something (lately this blog!)  So by the time I get to bed, I can usually sleep well into the early evening.  I say this because there have been people in the past who have given me the ‘Must be nice to sleep all day,’ in that snooty way.

Anyway…

This evening I woke up with one of those feelings that something was terribly wrong in the world.  My puppies were going crazy, running around the house barking.  I thought maybe I had tested the limits of their bladder and so I got up and let them out.  As I stepped out into the yard with them, there was nothing out of the ordinary in my neighborhood that gave me any indication that anything was out of place.  I must have been having a hell of a dream.  Oh well I’m awake now, may as well get something out of the fridge for dinner and start my day.

While waiting for my pork chops to thaw, I thought I’d Check out the T.V. to see if there was any sort of announcement.  Nope, nothing.  About that time though, my husband came racing into the house to see if I was ok.  I Said I was and asked what he was going on about.

“Don’t you hear that?”  He asked.

Well I didn’t.  So I paused the T.V. to listen.  Sure enough, just barely within hearing range was a whump.  I looked at Aaron.

“What the hell is that?”  I said moving to the door.

“That’s what I’ve been trying to tell you.”

I walked out the door and stood on the porch and waited for the sound again.  This time when it came, I was facing the right direction.  The whole sky lit up.

“Holy shit!”  I yelled out surprised.  Just for good measure, it happened again.  “I know where that is! Let’s go chase it!”

“Are you crazy?”  Aaron said shocked.  “We don’t even know if we can get there.”

“Sure we can.  Remember, I grew up here.  I can get anywhere.”

So we ran and got into the truck, the thought of southwest pork chops forgotten for the time being, and proceeded to find this thing.

Now Gregory is a small town of about 2300 people.  To my surprise we joined a line of traffic in a hurry to get out of town.  We had the radio on and had not heard about any evacuations, although it did mention the blast.  We had to go to the turn around to get back on the highway and turn around.  From the overpass, the flames could be seen shooting hundreds of feet in the air, creating a spectacular fire ball each time.  Now the whoosh was getting louder with each burst.

Of course the police had blocked us off from being able to get to our destination, but it was clear to see that it was a small natural gas plant that was just outside the city.  So we had to go down to the next turn around and come back towards town.  As we got closer, we managed to pull in under the overpass along with other spectators to watch the terrible beauty light up the night.

The ten o’clock news confirmed that it was the natural gas plant that had ruptured a line.  Thanks to the quick work of the safety team and fire departments from several cities, there were no injuries and no evacuation was necessary.  This was a good thing because I was already trying to figure out how to explain the small petting zoo I was going to set up on the patio of the small hospital I was working at.  Another bright point, the news used part of the footage I had uploaded to Facebook in their report…  My dad would have been proud.

The Eclectic Scribe

4 comments on “Terror in a Tiny Town!

  1. Ally B. Jones
    January 21, 2015

    Oooohhh…exciting. 🙂

    Like

  2. Blyth
    January 22, 2015

    always a happening place where you are…glad all is well for you…hugs

    Like

  3. Brother Dave
    January 22, 2015

    I would have told the D.O.N. that pets are proven, positive therapy for patients. We had a resident poodle in the L.T.C. facility where I spent a few happy years in nursing.

    Your story brought back memories of an overturned railroad car that had derailed just about one mile from our house. It was loaded with phosphorus. It burned for days, filling the skies with white smoke and the odor of ignited kitchen matches.

    Like

    • meboyes
      January 22, 2015

      Our facility has been open to pet therapy before so this would not be a new thing LOL. As for your boxcar… wow… that is a hell of a smell to have to live with!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2015 by in Rambling and tagged , , .
Biblebelt Witchy Mama

Life and Times of a North Carolina Heathen Parent

medievalfragments

Turning Over a New Leaf

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Learn To Love Food

Food Fun For Feeding Therapy and Picky Eaters

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Embellishment

for the Bellydance Journey

girl in the hat

Anna Fonté: the things she writes want you to look at them.

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

