Musings of an Eclectic Scribe

Exploring topics to write about

Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap

Tourist Trap

When my first granddaughter was born, I had this amazing vision while I was rocking  her in the nursery:  I was going to walk the canopy of the Amazon Rain Forest with my grandchildren.  Why this thought came into my head I have no idea.  As I watch my grandchildren growing up, the idea seems to become more real.  So this has become my dream vacation.  Will I be able to accomplish it?

In doing some research for this prompt, I found that the Smithsonian National Zoo hosts conservation educational trips to the rain forest.  Now I have a starting point for a trip.  I imagine how cool it would be to watch the sun rise/set with all six of my grandchildren sitting around me.  Sitting out at night with the telescope looking at the stars and finding the Southern Cross.  It just seems like the best memory I could leave my grandchildren.

On a separate note, it would give me some great material for the National Novel Writing Month competition!

7 comments on “Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap

  1. Rechito
    January 23, 2015

    I was in the Amazon in 2012 and loved it. Your grandchildren will love the pink dolphins and, believe it or not, I was on a cruise. I haven’t blogged about it yet but will do so soon…and congrats on the National Novel Writing Contest.

    Like

  2. bethcasey1961
    January 23, 2015

    I pray you get to make that journey with your grandchildren, Indeed the trip would make wonderful for NANOWRIMO! I keep telling mysef every year I’m going to do it and stick with it, but I never have.

    Like

  3. meboyes
    January 24, 2015

    Thank you Beth! Looking up some information got me all excited all over again. Right now they are all still a little too young to do it, so I have some time to save up for what I hope will be an amazing experience!

    Like

  4. Debbie
    January 26, 2015

    hello, i went to the amazon many many years ago. whilst there, i took a trip into the jungle. rainforest. i will never forget an amazing sight whilst there –
    we had stumbled upon a small remote village.
    an indigenous woman had just given birth.
    there, swaying on the hammock, was a one-day old baby.

    so pure, so beautiful, so part of the forest.
    if the rest of the world would stop chopping down these people’s homelands, the people would still have their trees and we’d all be able to breathe better.

    take your grandchildren. they will never forget it.
    somethings are worth working, saving, spending for.

    Debbie

    Like

  5. meboyes
    January 26, 2015

    Debbie what an amazing story! The more I hear from people who have actually made this trip, the more excited I get about planning and saving up for it! Thank you for sharing that!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Debbie
    January 27, 2015

    Excellent! it will be amazing for your grandkids!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Life is Good | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2015 by in Prompt Exercises and tagged , , .
Biblebelt Witchy Mama

Life and Times of a North Carolina Heathen Parent

medievalfragments

Turning Over a New Leaf

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Learn To Love Food

Food Fun For Feeding Therapy and Picky Eaters

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Embellishment

for the Bellydance Journey

girl in the hat

Anna Fonté: the things she writes want you to look at them.

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

