Musings of an Eclectic Scribe

Exploring topics to write about

Reflections on Blogging

When the thought was first brought to me that I should start a blog, there was a myrid of emotions.  What on earth would I have to say that would be interesting to anyone?  Would anyone read it?  Would they come back?  What if I said something stupid and my family disowned me?  What if I said something really great and people expected me to continue to write brilliantly– horror upon all horrors, they would know it was just a passing moment LOL!
So, on the advice of my wonderful friend Blyth (Channeling Ink), I decided to take a chance and start my own blog.  Since I know very little about this medium, I started with the Blogging 101 course.  This is a must for anyone who knows absolutly nothing about this art form. It introduced me to an entirely new and wonderful world.  A community of people with ideas to share, dreams looking for encouragement, and for some… hope where there is none.  Then there are pages of wonderful art!  Everything from the written word to photography is there to give inspiration.  It’s all just so amazing!
Now I have yet to figure out everything that has been introduced in these lesson but I figure that will come in time.  I am trying everything out to see what works and what doesn’t (and what doesn’t because I haven’t figured it out yet lol.)  But I am enjoying crafting new posts which will hopefully improve my ability to write well.
My hope is that in my old age I will be able to write for fun and profit.  Yep.  I would like to write a novel that sells.  A blog that someone wants to read and – dare I say it- have a following!
So far this is what I have learned:  In a world of billions of people, we are all trying to connect with each other.  To find people who can understand what we are going through and to be able to say “I was here and my throughts mattered.  What I saw was beautiful and I want to share it with you!” 
Blogging gives a voice to the terribly shy (like me) and the opportunity to try something different.  My first month of blogging has been great fun and I am looking forward to the coming year.  It will be fun to see where I am at the end of the  year!
Can’t wait to discover more pages!
The Eclectic Scribe

4 comments on “Reflections on Blogging

  1. Lorie Smith Schaefer
    January 26, 2015

    Exactly. This has been my experience as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Blyth
    January 27, 2015

    Wow, I would have never described you as shy my friend…..a woman who definitely has a voice…..It is why I love ya!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Faraday's Candle
    January 30, 2015

    you express yourself beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2015 by in Rambling and tagged , , .
medievalfragments

Turning Over a New Leaf

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Learn To Love Food

Food Fun For Feeding Therapy and Picky Eaters

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Embellishment

for the Bellydance Journey

girl in the hat

Anna Fonté: the things she writes want you to look at them.

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

